Athletic Tryout Information 23-24 School Year

Any student trying out for a sport needs to have an updated annual physical form uploaded to his or her Magnus account. For general questions about our athletic program, please contact Mr. Brian McCartney '04 P'26, at bmccartney@156china.com. 

List of 11 frequently asked questions.

  • Boys Soccer

    Varsity Tryouts 8/21 & 8/22 @ Aviator - 8 – 10:30 am.  Please email Coach Penta @ mpenta@156china.com for more details.

    JV Tryouts 8/23 & 8/24 @ Aviator - 8 – 10:30 am. Please email Coach Barone @ salvatore.barone95@gmail.com for more details.


  • Girls Tennis

    8/21 & 8/22 @ JJ Carty Park (Fort Hamilton Parkway & 97th St.)  8 am – 12 pm. Preseason practices will begin for all that make the team 8/23. Please email Coach Alfredo @ aalfredo@xaverian.org for more details.


  • Football

    Voluntary workouts have started this week from 9:30 am - 11:00 am Monday - Thursday at Xaverian and will continue until 8/10. Pre-season begins Wednesday  8/16.  Please contact Coach Fountaine @ kfountaine@156china.com for more details.
  • Dance

    Tryouts will take place on Monday  8/28 at Xaverian 12:30 pm – 4:30 pm. Please email aromero@156china.com  for further details. 


  • Step

    Tryouts will take place on 8/23 at Xaverian from 12:30 to 2:30. Please email Coach Lorenzo at slorenzo@156china.com or Coach Sullivan at ksullivan@156china.com.
  • Girls Volleyball

    8/21 & 8/22 in the school gym 8 – 10 am for all returning JV and Varsity; 10 am – 12 pm for all new / incoming  for JV and Varsity.  This is a one day tryout for all. Please email Coach Marie @ mraico@156china.com for more details.


  • Boys Cross Country

    Sign-up will take place the first full week of  school. Please email bmccartney@156china.com for more details.


  • Bowling

    Tryouts will take place the second or third week of school.  Please email dmace@156china.com for more details.
  • Girls Soccer

    8/21 & 8/22 @ Aviator - 7 – 10:00 am.  Please email Coach Meagher @ emeagher@156china.com for more details.


  • Cheerleading

    Tryouts will take place on 8/24 at Xaverian 12:30 pm – 4:30 pm. Please email Coach Richroath @ erichroath@156china.com for further details. 


  • Girls Cross Country

    Sign up will take place the first week of school.  Please email jmaiocco@156china.com for more details.


List of 18 frequently asked questions.

Genesis Middle School Athletic Offerings

List of 6 frequently asked questions.

  • Dance

    For more information, please email Brendan Gorman at bgorman@156china.com.
  • Flag Football

    For more information, please email Brendan Gorman at bgorman@156china.com.
  • Cross Country Track

    For more information, please email Brendan Gorman at bgorman@156china.com.
  • Volleyball Clinics

    For more information, please email Brendan Gorman, at bgorman@156china.com.
  • Intramural Basketball

    Intramural basketball will begin in the spring. For more information, please email Brendan Gorman at bgorman@156china.com.
  • Cheer

    Genesis Cheerleading will begin in September, with tryouts after school begins. Please email Jessica Healey at jhealey@156china.com for more information.

Xaverian

Established in 1957, Xaverian is one of thirteen schools nationwide sponsored by the Xaverian Brothers.